Carrot and passion fruit muffin

It’s been a while since I’ve started cooking and i always wanted to try a carrot cake , i have never eaten it or cooked it  , can you believe it . So yesterday i asked a friend of mine if she had a recipe for a carrot cake , she gave me a good one , but i had to give my little touch  . So i decided to add some passion fruit and ginger to the recipe to give it a wee exotic twist and instead to bake it as a loaf , I baked 12 individuals muffin size carrot cake . And then once chilled i drizzled on top some royal icing and i had to try one with my coffee, and believe me , they are tasty , moist and sweet , everything we want in a cake .

Bon appetit .

Ingredients:

Makes 1 loaf or 12 muffins

*175 grs plain flour

*175 grs caster sugar

*175 grs finely grated carrot

*5 passion fruits

*1 tablespoon baking soda

*1 tablespoon baking powder

*1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

*140 ml vegetable oil

*2 eggs

*1 egg white

*1 teaspoon lemon juice

*165 grs icing sugar

1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius if you are making the muffins or 160 degrees Celsius if you are cooking it as a loaf.

2.In a mixing bowl , sieve the sugar, flour , baking soda, ginger and baking powder.

3.In another bowl beat the eggs and slowly add the oil and then pour on the flour mix.

4. Mix well and add the passion fruit and carrot , stir and pour into a baking tin and cook for 1 hour at 160 degrees Celsius or pour into muffin cases and cook 25 min at 180 degrees Celsius.

5. Once the muffins are cooked and chilled , you can start the royal icing. With a hand mixer at low speed beat the egg white, add the lemon and progressively add the icing sugar and pour on the muffing with a piping bag .

4 thoughts on “Carrot and passion fruit muffin

  1. Wow carrot and passion fruit that must been tasty, shame you cant send a little bit over the next for us to try it too. I love cooking and I have had carrot cake but I do believe you have not baked it before because neither have I. I live in Ghana and baking here with this humidity would be hell but when I get back home to Australia, I will def try this or even start with a plain carrot cake and I will def let you know how I went as well!!

    • yes you should definitely try it when you go back to Australia, the cupcakes were a hit among my friends and i am sure your friends will love this recipe . Good luck with your cooking and come back check on my blog for more recipes .thank you

Leave a Reply

