chicken korma

As a chef , I have a busy schedule and often after a ten hours split shift I don’t feel like cooking and go for an Indian takeaway . Some people find it disgraceful because i am a chef but believe me after serving between 100 to 300 people a day the last thing you want to do is cook again . And it also good to get served for a change. I often go to an Indian takeaway in my town and order a pilau rice and some korma sauce with a cheese naan . Unfortunately I tried a dozen recipe but none are as good as the takeaway , so I opened my spice press and tried by taste to recreate the recipe and it was pretty close to the original one. I used chicken for this post but it can be replaced by lamb , prawns or add some vegetables for a vegetarian option. In the original version they only serve it with meat but I added some courgettes and bell peppers in my recipe as i like vegetable in my sauce but I didn’t wrote it in the posts but you can add some if you like.

chicken korma

Ingredients:
Serves 4:
*2 diced onions
*4 cardamom seeds
*2 bay leaves
*2 tomatoes
*5 chicken breasts
*2 tbsp of curcuma
*1 tsp of ground coriander
*2 tsp of cumin
*1 tsp of chilli powder
*1 pinch of saffron
*2 tsp of tomato purée
*2 tbsp of shredded coconut
* 2 tins of coconut milk
*3 tbsp of sugar
* 1 pint of water

1. In a hot pot with olive oil, shallow fry the onion, then add the tomatoes cut in wedges and every ingredients but the chicken and shredded coconut.
2. Cook on low heat for 15 minutes and blend using a hand blender .
3. Cut the chicken in thick chunks ( about 6 pieces by chicken breasts) and add to the sauce along with the shredded coconut and slowly cook for 45 minutes, then serve with some pilau rice or naan bread.
Bon appetit.

Leave a Reply

